Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Moved: Vague Clutch On Rav4 2006 2.0l Petrol

conorbuzz

Hello all,

I've owned a Rav4 2006 2.0L Petrol for nearly a year now, and I'm still having trouble with starts from stop, and hill starts. I've been driving for years, and never had this problem before. I know that cars take getting used to but this is too much .

If you imagine the arc of the clutch to be 12 inches ( 0 being depressed and 12 being fully out) it only seems to engage on the 10-11 range. Before that the engine revs like crazy to get it to go, after that range it stalls. it seems a really sensitive balancing act as I don't want to leave 2" of rubber at the lights nor do I want to stall it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated?

Is there something that can be adjusted ?

Did any of what I said make sense ? I'm not very technical, sorry

Thanks in advance

Conor

So more scouring the web, is it possible that the pressure plate is acting up ?

Feels like something isn't "clicking/moving' into place as soon as it should. Jesus, the internet is a dangerous place! LOL

Going to drag the car to a garage this week I hope, but would be nice to tell give him some idea in "garage" terms whats going on.

Thanks again,

There are a number of possibilities. A worn clutch plate or weak pressure plate or oil on the friction plate or sticking release bearing could all cause such symptoms. Is there any signs of oil leak around the gearbox bell housing engine area??:)

Are you saying it revs without you doing anything? As james says, it could just be a worn clutch and the bite point is high but if it definitely fierce then it could be contaminated with oil or the crankshaft thrust bearings are worn or failed engine mountings.