Jump to content

  •  

Show
Photo
- - - - -

Lights On The Instrument Panel


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

    Enter the Yaris

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 649 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Yaris

Posted 10 January 2010 - 11:45 PM

Throughout the bad weather my Yaris has been running just fine. However, this afternoon when I turned on the lights the little green icon on the instrument panel didn't show up as it usually does when you turn on the lights. If I use main beam a blue main beam icon will show. Could this be a loose fuse or something? Any suggestions?

Also my bloody interior light won't illumunate either. Not sure if its the weather or if I shouldn't have tampered with it in the first place... Will get round to fixing that when its a little warmer.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to TOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 alfiejts

alfiejts

    Guru Member

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 969 posts
  • First Name:Graham
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Yaris 1.3 SR Nav (was 2000 1.0 CDX)
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 11 January 2010 - 09:19 AM

Are all the lights actually working on the outside of the car?

If so, its probably just the warning light bulb that's blown in the instrument panel.

If there are lights not working outside the car and the interior light isn't working either - that smells of a blown fuse or a bad connection in the power supply caused by the bad weather....

#3 Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

    Enter the Yaris

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 649 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Yaris

Posted 11 January 2010 - 06:57 PM

The lights are working outside the car. The small icon for main beam is displayed when I use it but the icon for my lights is not. Where do I get a new warning bulb for it and how do I replace it?

#4 Thermal

Thermal

    Advanced Club Member

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • First Name:Willem
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: T27 tourer, 1.8 Petrol, 6-speed, LHD
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Other/NonUK

Posted 11 January 2010 - 08:13 PM

The link below goes to the 2003 Yaris' Bluetooth installation guide.
In this guide the complete dashboard is stripped, but the illustration on page 7 shows the posistion of the clips of the instrument cover.

Once the cover is off, you will most likely see the screws that hold the instrument cluster.
Take it out, disconnect the wires and ignore the rest of the guide.

No idea what the back of the cluster looks like and if you can replace bulbs without opening it.

I'm not allowed to touch my wife's Yaris unless something is broken, so I cannot help here.
I hope these illustrations are helpfull, and no doubt you will post a picture here of that backside. :)

http://techdoc.toyot.....000 684-1.pdf

#5 stantheman1

stantheman1

    Advanced Club Member

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Toyota Model: yaris

Posted 11 January 2010 - 08:13 PM

To gain access to the panel indicator lamp you have to remove the speedo binnacle, to do this just simply pull the enclosure gently in an upward direction until it pops out (you don't need brute force ) then unplug the wiring harness, next you need to remove the 4 screws that secure it and disconnect the two plugs and the panel can be lifted out.
Locate the faulty lamp and remove it by twisting the plastic holder approx 45 degrees pull the old lamp out and replace with a new one. (From memory it's a 12 volt 1.2 watt miniature push fit (wedge base) bulb.)
It really doesn't take long and is simle to do.

#6 Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

    Enter the Yaris

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 649 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Yaris

Posted 11 January 2010 - 10:10 PM

Do I pull the whole of the binnacle upwards or just the front bit of it?

#7 stantheman1

stantheman1

    Advanced Club Member

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Toyota Model: yaris

Posted 12 January 2010 - 07:43 AM

I found by grasping the front with both hands (thumbs on the inside of the arch) and a gentle upward tug towards the front of the car did the trick, and from memory the front bit lifted which allowed me to pull the rest of the binnacle out towards me, if that makes sense!

#8 Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

    Enter the Yaris

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 649 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Yaris

Posted 12 January 2010 - 08:41 PM

Not really but I'll give it a go when I get the chance this weekend and have ordered the bulbs that you recommended so hopefully it'll be sorted by next week.

#9 Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

Cherry Red Pocket Rocket

    Enter the Yaris

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 649 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Yaris

Posted 16 January 2010 - 01:23 PM

Thank you very much for your instructions. I successfully managed to dismantle it, put a new bulb in and reassemble it again. However, it still doesn't work. I've tried swapping around bulbs that I knew were working and that didn't work either. What else could the problem be?

#10 Vitz_man

Vitz_man

    Advanced Club Member

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Skoda Fabia 1.4 MPI

Posted 16 January 2010 - 05:43 PM

Loose connection somewhere along the line?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users