Club Member

• Registered Member
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Rav4.2 (2002)

Posted 02 March 2010 - 06:43 PM

Hi folks,

A TOC newbie here. :) Just wondering if anybody has had cause to source a new remote/key for their Rav4.2? (the key with the buttons on for the central locking/alarm)?

I bought my Rav4 S/H early last year and it only came with the one remote/key and a non-remote key (i.e. no buttons). I'm guessing there is no way to disable the alarm/start the car with the non-remote key. I don't like just having one remote/key, in case the battery dies or I loose it unexpectedly, and I'm left with no way of driving the vehicle.

Has anybody attempted to source a replacement key before? I'm particularly interested to know how much the replacement might be and what information Mr. T requires to replace it (e.g. do they need to send off the original key)? I don't unfortunately have the key-code that Toyota provide with the vehicle from new (unless this is somewhere inside the vehicle)?

Any thoughts/ideas most appreciated!

Cheers,
Graham

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 Andyf3854

Andyf3854

Club Member

• Registered Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Toyota Model: Rav4

Posted 02 March 2010 - 06:58 PM