#1 kevinvic

kevinvic

Club Member

• Registered Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Toyota Model: rav4

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:47 AM

Hi all, well the 2004 rav is still at toyota with a bust engine and in the meantime our 2002 Rav has the dreaded engine light on. Took it to toyota knowing full well they would tell me it was an oxygen sensor which of course they did. They told me it was sensor 1 and wanted 183 + fitting. I have decided to not to give Toyota any money after the hassled with them on my other car so am opting to fit it myself. I called them today to ask if it was bank 1 sensor 1 or bank 2 sensor 1 but they could not remember!!! Anyways I am a complete novice so here goes:

If I was told sensor 1 which one is it?
Where will i find it
How do I replace it
If there are 2 types of sensor 1 on a 2002 Rav should i buy them both
Does anyone have the part numbers
Has anyone got an idiots guide giving step by step instructions preferably with pics!!!
Where is the cheapest place to get them

I have heard it is a simple job but if i get stuck will take iot to my local garage.

The car is running fine and I initially got toyota to reset the computer, the light went off but 10 mins later it was back on. I have read all of the posts and just know that if i took it back to toyota it will end up being 4 oxygen sensors later and the light will still come on.

Thanks for any advice

Kev

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 pmb

pmb

Advanced Club Member

• Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 497 posts
  • First Name:Paul
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: 2002 Rav4 VX 5-door petrol
  • Year: 2002

Posted 14 April 2010 - 12:21 PM