Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Toyota Problems Not Over Yet

V V V P****D OFF

Hello all, I am new to this, but I thought you might appreciate yet another nice horror story of the wonders of Toyota Ownership.

My Aygo is 3 years and 3 months old (it is so important to be accurate about these things). It has done a paltry 18300 miles- mostly because it spent almost a year in garage as I recovered from a minor stroke and major heart surgery all in the same week.

Last week the gear linkage broke, "not exactly unheard of" I hear you cry, "one more on the growing list of reasons not to buy a Toyota".

It seems that Toyota expect me to pay for this, and as a magnificent offer they will reduce the cost from £275 to a mere £137.50

I don't feel I should pay anything- it is not as if I have had anything approaching 3 years of motoring.

How would you proceed?

Hi welcome to TOC

I noticed you said your car is 3 years 3 months old... if i am right it is out of warranty? please correct if i am wrong

In thoery we all know they could of offered zilch. So lucky to get some money off to be honest as other brands would have refused to pay anything.

You dont feel as though you should pay anything but at the end of the day where do you draw the line at the warranty expiring? The warranty period is 3 years, not 3 years 3 months. Yes you have a low mileage and you have not used the car a lot but they have offered you a contribution to the cost of repairs. You could argue with Toyota over it but at the end of the day it is a "Goodwill" contribution

Kingo :thumbsup:

Hi V V V, sorry to hear about your illness, hope you are ok now.