Do Not Sell My Personal Information

No Power & Lots Of Smoke

Roxton

Hi

I have a 2003 Avensis T3 D4D. It's been an excellent car, & had it for 4 yrs. Was on M62 & going up hill when the car slowed up alot more than usual. My spped slowed so much I went from the outside lane to the hard shoulder. Now doing 30 & changed to 3rd gear & put foot down. Lots of greay somke for a while then black smoke & the car took off! This kept on happening all the way home. (another 45mins)

Any ideas of a DIY fix. I keep reading ERG valve? Can I clean or fix? If so any help?

I'm new to site so don't know if i've given enough info, if not please let me know.

Cheers

Roy.

Hi

I have a 2003 Avensis T3 D4D. It's been an excellent car, & had it for 4 yrs. Was on M62 & going up hill when the car slowed up alot more than usual. My spped slowed so much I went from the outside lane to the hard shoulder. Now doing 30 & changed to 3rd gear & put foot down. Lots of greay somke for a while then black smoke & the car took off! This kept on happening all the way home. (another 45mins)

Any ideas of a DIY fix. I keep reading ERG valve? Can I clean or fix? If so any help?

I'm new to site so don't know if i've given enough info, if not please let me know.

Cheers

Roy.

Hi! Can you check the Turbo and intercooler pipes to make sure they are connected and tight?

You will generally get loads of white or grey smoke and a dramatic loss of power if one becomes disconnected.

Yours is a little unusual as you regained power, normally this doesn't happen.

Colin

Disconnected intercooler would cause constant performance problems.

your problem is probably the EGR valve.

you need to search the forum plenty of threads.

Thanks for the replies chaps

I will take off & clean. I have seen a very descriptive stripdown & clean of the vavle on here BUT it must be a later model than mine as it looks different & in different location.