Jump to content


Photo

Odometer Reset


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Cyker

Cyker

    Top Rank Poster!

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,127 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Yaris/03

Posted 30 November 2010 - 06:27 PM

My dad's Ford Focus' entire dash died last week and we've just gotten it replaced (Got the dash for £70 and took me like, 3 minutes to fit it! :yahoo: Ford wanted £200 for the dash and £150 to fit it! :censor: For 1 plug and 4 bolts! Fitting the XCarlink to my Yaris was more work than that!!)

It seems all well and good aside from one thing: The Odo has been reset to 0!! :eek:

After a brief panic, we took it down to Ford, and apparently this reset is normal as the dash can't be reprogrammed to a specific mileage (Makes sense, to stop fraud etc.), but the mechanics said we don't have to do anything else and that seems a bit weird to me (Again, for fraud reasons!)


I just want to double-check: Is that actually the case then? Or are we actually supposed to notify the DVLA or get something signed or something?


It's just that otherwise, if he sold it next year there'd be a diesel 53-plate Ford Focus floating around with only 7000 or so miles on the clock and no evidence to the contrary aside from a rather dodgy-looking jump in the MOT documents! :eek: :lol:

(I'm now also wondering whether this car has done a lot more than the 50k listed on its old dash and had a replacement dash already as the one I took out was very clean! Much cleaner than my Yaris'!! :eek: )


I'm annoyed that Ford haven't had some sort of recall as this is apparently a very common problem, but then this is why I have a Toyota and not a Ford :yahoo:

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to TOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 CerberusStyle

CerberusStyle

    Advanced Club Member

  • TOC Supporter Plus
  • 120 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Corolla T-Sport

Posted 01 December 2010 - 03:17 AM

My dad's Ford Focus' entire dash died last week and we've just gotten it replaced (Got the dash for 70 and took me like, 3 minutes to fit it! :yahoo: Ford wanted 200 for the dash and 150 to fit it! :censor: For 1 plug and 4 bolts! Fitting the XCarlink to my Yaris was more work than that!!)

It seems all well and good aside from one thing: The Odo has been reset to 0!! :eek:

After a brief panic, we took it down to Ford, and apparently this reset is normal as the dash can't be reprogrammed to a specific mileage (Makes sense, to stop fraud etc.), but the mechanics said we don't have to do anything else and that seems a bit weird to me (Again, for fraud reasons!)


I just want to double-check: Is that actually the case then? Or are we actually supposed to notify the DVLA or get something signed or something?


It's just that otherwise, if he sold it next year there'd be a diesel 53-plate Ford Focus floating around with only 7000 or so miles on the clock and no evidence to the contrary aside from a rather dodgy-looking jump in the MOT documents! :eek: :lol:

(I'm now also wondering whether this car has done a lot more than the 50k listed on its old dash and had a replacement dash already as the one I took out was very clean! Much cleaner than my Yaris'!! :eek: )


I'm annoyed that Ford haven't had some sort of recall as this is apparently a very common problem, but then this is why I have a Toyota and not a Ford :yahoo:


Ford main stealer, i mean dealer will be able to set the milage correct ( at cost ) if you can prove what the actual milage of teh car is, but leaving it with lower milage than it actualy has could land you in alot of trouble if they think you have deliberately CLOCKED the car.

#3 Daveyonthemove

Daveyonthemove

    Top Rank Poster!

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,548 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Auris SR180

Posted 01 December 2010 - 10:13 PM

There are companies who can clock cars, so you should be able to get an aprox mileage set without too much hassle.

#4 bothwell_buyer

bothwell_buyer

    Top Rank Poster!

  • TOC Supporter
  • 7,895 posts
  • First Name:Ian
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: RAV4s, MR2s
  • Year: 1994
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 02 December 2010 - 09:17 AM

congratulations on obtaining your brand new car with private regy !! :lol:

#5 Cyker

Cyker

    Top Rank Poster!

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,127 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Yaris/03

Posted 02 December 2010 - 09:31 PM

Ford main stealer, i mean dealer will be able to set the milage correct ( at cost ) if you can prove what the actual milage of the car is, but leaving it with lower milage than it actualy has could land you in alot of trouble if they think you have deliberately CLOCKED the car.


Re-checked with Ford; Despite saying they couldn't reset it previously, they now say they can but it'll cost 120 to do it :angry:
The service guy did repeat that it wasn't necessary tho', just said we had to keep the last MOT before the change and the receipt for the new dash...!

Still waiting on a reply from the DVLA <_<

Gah! I really wish I had an authoritative answer; This is not a good time of year to be throwing money at things unnecessarily, esp. since I'm probably going to get made redundant because of all these :censor: cuts :crybaby:

#6 bothwell_buyer

bothwell_buyer

    Top Rank Poster!

  • TOC Supporter
  • 7,895 posts
  • First Name:Ian
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: RAV4s, MR2s
  • Year: 1994
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 05 December 2010 - 11:12 AM

take the cheapest route and do nothing. As long as you keep the MOT certs, then there is proof of the real mileage.

#7 Cyker

Cyker

    Top Rank Poster!

  • Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,127 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Yaris/03

Posted 06 December 2010 - 12:18 PM

I think we'll do that; The DVLA basically said they don't care as it's nothing to do with them! (??!?!)

#8 Parts-King

Parts-King

    AUTHORISED TOC TRADER

  • Authorised Trader
  • 10,172 posts
  • First Name:Kingo
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Auris 1.6 Valvematic Sport 5 Dr
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 06 December 2010 - 12:30 PM

There are companies, and as you say, Ford can re-set the mileage to what it was

From a legal point of view, you cannot sell a car with a knowingly different mileage (higher or lower funnily enough) You can sell it but must be honest with the buyer about the miles

It has nothing to do with the DVLA, it's all to do with the Sale of Goods act

Kingo :thumbsup:

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users