Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

New Owner Question

simplesimon

Hi All

I'm new to MR2 Roadster ownership and am so far very happy, but there is one little fly in the ointment.

My car is a 2004 model.

I have noticed my car uses oil.

Not a huge amount, but just enough to have me concerned.

My day to day drive is a 20 mile round trip, and over about 800 miles, I'm using probably just over a quarter of a litre.

I've owned cars that use much more but my worry is this.

If I do a longer motorway trip, at a steady 60-70mph that consumption increases dramatically to about the same over 100 miles.

I phoned my dealer today and got some technical advice.

It seems that Toyota did recognise a problem and extended the warranty.

The main problem apparently, is using the wrong oil.

As cars get older, there is less concern about what goes in there, and eventually they end up in some local garage having cheap 10W-40 put in, which apparently is the kiss of death.

My understanding is that if an oil that is too thick is used, it struggles through oilways and causes lubrication issues.

Well actually it was a lot more technical than that, including talk of oil grades and oval shape bores, but that was my basic understanding.

I'm interested to know how much oil other people's cars are using.

There is no smoke with mine, and no leaks.

The car runs perfectly in every other respect, especially with fuel consumption which I think is amazing.

As I said, day to day it's acceptable, but a bit scary on a motorway trip.

Why should steady motorway driving increase oil consumption ?

Hope I don't have to carry oil around with me every time I go away in it.

• 1 month later...

your car is out of the toyota extended warranty but in general these engines do burn oil toyota spec 1,lrt per 1000 miles any more and it req a new short block...