Do Not Sell My Personal Information

2.2 D4D T3X Head Gasket Dilemma

westsider

Hi all, I'm a new member and have a problem with the head gasket on my 2007 Avensis D4DT3X which I only bought in April. I live in Ireland and the car was imported from England with 82K and a full service history, and I've put on about 5K on the clock since then as I'm a taxi driver.

I've read all the issues about the Head Gasket problems with the Avenis 2.2 diesel engine, very helpfull BTW. Even before I brought the car to a mechanic to confirm the head gasket problem I suspected as much, as the needle on the temperature gauge was going north and the heating would cut out until I filled the coolant reservoir which tended to evaporate quite quickly, and a new water pump didn't stop the problem.

The dilemma I have is about what is the best way to have it fixed, as I need the car back on the road as quickly as possible to make a living.

1) Toyota Ireland wouldn't cover the warranty as they only give three years over here, but I know that the car is still covered under warranty in the UK and they did suggest contacting a dealer in Northern Ireland. However driving it 100 miles from Dublin across the border might not be a good idea in its present condition, and the car has Irish registration plates and has been converted into a taxi which may not go down to well with a Northern Irish Toyoya dealer.

2) The dealer I bought the car from where not to helpful at first, but were in favour of bringing the car up North and putting back on the old UK registration plates which they still have, a little bit dodgy I think. By law they are entitled to provide me with a warranty for up to three months and if I created enough fuss or threatened them with legal action they probably would take the car back in, but I don't how long they would have it and I don't want a Mickey Mouse job done just to get me out of their hair.