Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Warning Lights Again!

sywy

Just come back from town after the weekly shop, and the check engine/4x4/vsc warning lights have come on again!! However, this time the car has not gone into limp home mode. It seems to be revving normally. As it's Saturday afternoon, can't ring Mr T until Monday. Is this still an egr problem, like i had last time (a couple of yeras ago)? I'm not very technical minded when it comes to cars, so a bit reluctant to meddle with things in the engine bay. Is my car safe to drive? I will need to get to work on Monday, before I can ring Mr. T.

It will go into limp mode if it is severe enough to cause damage. Keep in mind that if you do take it in with the light on (so leave it on) they are very likely to rebuild the engine with upgraded parts as your motor is already registered with an "unsuccessful" EGR mod :thumbsup:

Can't be sure without a test drive but if you prefer, it is very easy to clean it out as shown in the pinned section.

Personally, I would err towards the free rebuild.

Thanks for the reply Anchs.

What is this free rebuild? I must admit I don't read these forums as often as I used to, so may have missed this news? Is there any info you can point me to, so that I am armed with the correct info when I do go in.

Thanks for the reply Anchs.

What is this free rebuild? I must admit I don't read these forums as often as I used to, so may have missed this news? Is there any info you can point me to, so that I am armed with the correct info when I do go in.

Toyota are now re-building engines proven to be using excessive amounts of oil. Clogged EGRs being one sign. They have extended the engine warranty to 7? years and 112K miles.

Best to let your dealer have a look at what's going on. Several members have now had re-builds. :thumbsup: