Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Battery Charging

Nemo2000

More out of curiosity that anything, and I realise that any answer will be only approximate, but....

roughly how far would I have to drive my petrol RAV 4.2 in order to recharge the Battery enough to make up for the initial drain when starting the car?

Im no expert on rav's but my understanding is that an alternator doesnt kickin until a higher than idle rev range and it trickle charges your Battery. So a motorway journey of a decent run is required.

I know this isn't the answer you want, but i replaced my Battery last week, so iput the old one on a trickle charger in my garage, and after 5 days continuous charge the little magic eye in the Battery is showing fully charged, Red ctre, blue outer, :thumbsup: Stew

I always believed that alternators charged at low revs due to them running faster than the old dynamos

At the moment my car would think it it's birthday if it did a ten mile run!!

Due to circumestances at home my journeys are often less less than a mile and so far the Battery is holding up quite well,although it is from a diesel but by no means new.

So I would think you have no need to worry unless your Battery is about to give up on you.

Just saying it as I see it

Del

. . .roughly how far would I have to drive my petrol RAV 4.2 in order to recharge the Battery enough to make up for the initial drain when starting the car?

After a typical cold start, with a Battery that is in a decent state of charge, the alternator will kick out a very large charge - anything up to 50A or 75A - into the Battery. Under normal circumstances (that is, unless you turn on every electrical load imaginable) this initial high charge will reduce after less than 5 minutes driving to 20A or even 10A. It will then stay at this low figure, and taper off to a trickle (5A or less) over the next half an hour of driving.