Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Tow Bar Advice

enyajtrebor

I believe that there are a few problems with Rav 4 towbars and running height with a caravan attached

I am about to take delivery of a 2013 2.2 Icon Manual

Can anyone suggest the best make tow bar to avoid any problems

Thanks

I have a Witter detachable towbar on my Rav. Its not the prettiest in the world but it does the job well and is very well made. The ride height is good and the towball is a comfortable distance from the bumper bar to allow an Alco hitch to be used.

I also have reversing sensors on my car and the tow bar does not interfere with them even when the ball is attached

No problems at all really.

The problem lies with the mark 2 where mostly you won't be able to open the door with the bar on. I don't think it's a problem with the mark 3

Hi, i used to fit towbars for a living, say 4 a day for about 3 years. Generally manufacturers towbars look better but are much more expensive. Some have a swan neck detachable ball and it connects low down behind the bumper or lower to ground level so if and when you detach it then the rest of the towbar is virtually hidden if you feel they look ugly when you are not towing. Because of their design it is generally not possible to fit a drop plate which would of give you the option to have the towball at the height you want. Witter towbars generally come in a primer finish, most people don't bother but you can paint them black or colour code them to your car. Because they have a flat mounting plate for the towball at the rear is is possible to fit a drop plate and also makes it easier to fit a anti-snaking device should you require one. You can buy anti-snaking device for manufacturers swan neck towbars too but they can look ugly. Generally once a Witter towbar is fitted the only removeable part is the towball itself which would need unbolting as opposed to some manufac