Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Interior Heater Not Working - 1998 2.0L Rav4

Torpina

Hi,

I've owned my 1998 RAV since last Sept and am loving it! However, the interior heater has recently stopped working - fuses are fine and the fans still blow cold air. The temp control is a slider - this now jams before reaching the minimum temp (cold zone). Is this a problem any other members have encountered/resolved?

I'm no mechanic but happy to give repairs a go, esp given the age of this vehicle. A friend had a similar problem with a Saab and reckons I need to access the "wire that controls the heater" from behind the dashboard, and re-attach it..?

I'm close to purchasing a Haynes Manual and rolling my sleeves up :bookworm:, but thought I'd check for any wisdom on this from other owners in the first instance B) .

Thanks in advance for any guidance!

Torpina

Hi,Torpina and firstly a very warm welcome to this club.

Your friend has given you excellent advice as this sounds like the answer to your problem as outlined by you.

Go for it and keep us informed as to how you go on as it is always nice to have feedback to members who try to help.

Again welcome

Del

Hi Del

Many thanks for your welcome and encouragement!

Experience says I am great at taking things apart but less good at putting them back together, so I think investment in a Haynes is still in order before I tackle this one!

I'll update in due course (hopefully before the winter!!)

Best regards

Torpina

Sometimes. the outer of the cable which is attached to the temperature slide slips through the clip that secures it. Moving the lever then does nothing since you're moving the whole cable and not just the inner cable - this might restrict the movement of the lever as you describe. You can usually re-tension the clip and refit it - however it may have been caused by a jammed / stiff / seized linkage downstream - this will need freeing.