Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Hybrid Brakes And Braking Worries On New Yaris Hsd

absolutebeginner

Hi, I just bought new Yaris HSD (redesigned version from this year) and since I'm new to hybrid system as well as that kind of gear shift I need help. Please bear with me and my (probably silly) worries..

Strange brakes questions:

1. Does anyone else have the feeling that the brakes have two positions, sort of degrees? It is hard to describe the feeling, but when I slowly push the brakes the car starts to slow down, and as I push it further the car STOPS (''1st degree'') BUT the brake pedal IS NOT PUSHED TO THE END - it's pushed half way to the end (''2nd degree''). Is that normal?

2. When I start the car I push the brake HARD to the end (as instructed by dealer), but do I have to push the brakes that hard when I want to stop the car or do I push it just untill the car has stopped ('1st degree'')?

3. When I change from D to R do I have to push the brakes to the end (flooring it to ''2nd degree'') or just untill car stops (''1st degree'')?

4. What about changing from D to B when descending a hill, do I have to pull my foot of the gas and hit the brakes to slow down first or just shift to B in full speed to start braking with engine?

5. After parking and reparking the car from the dealers lot, when I was braking downhill I heard a strange squeaking noise from the brakes. That happened on two occasions that first day and didn't happen again and the dealer said that is normal. Any thoughts?

Hill assist question: