Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

New Tyres And Wheels

Sinsley

Hello all,

I'm new to the Toyota scene and have recently bought myself a 2001 7th Gen Celica. Great car and I've been loving the 'tightness' of the driving position compared to other cars I've owned, no innuendo intended!

I'm looking for some new tyres and wheels for a first upgrade on the car; can anyone suggest some decent all-purpose tyres and decent wheels? My budget lies within the 'bang for your buck' category!

Many thanks,

Sinsley

Hello Mike,

These look decent, but expensive! I suppose something worth saving for perhaps!

Cheers, Sam

Don't buy cheap budget tyres, the gen 7 doesn't like them, you'll have nothing but trouble with them and end up changing them costing you more in the long run, quite a few over on another forum have had issues with cheap tyres.

Check out camskill for cheap tyres, then add around £10 per tyre to get them fitted and balanced, usually cheaper than buying from your local garage.

Brilliant cheers, Colin! I'll check out the website!

Does anyone happen to know of any decent lightweight alloys which they would recommend?

Thanks

Sam

I quite like Conti PremiumContacts. (Might be SportContacts for your car!)

Alloys-wise, most affordable alloys are made for looks rather than weight-savings and they all tend to be pretty similar there. It's not 'til you start looking at expensive forged allys that you get any useful weight-savings, but they are mega asspensive. (I once visited PaulT and he was showing off the Rays Engineering alloys he'd just received; I swear one of my alloys weighed almost as much as two of those :lol: However IIRC they were something like £500 a rim :eek:)

IMHO save the money; Keep the Celica alloys and maybe spend a bit more on better tyres :naughty: