Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Auris Rear Brakes

chrisgr

Hello,

My wife owns a 2011 1.6 Auris. It was bought last year with full toyota service history and 27k miles on the clock. I just had the 4th service done at my local dealer and they advised that both rear brake discs and pad need replacement as "discs worn, pads 4mm". They quoted £225 although I pointed out and they accepted that the fixed price for rear discs/pads is £215.

I queried what the problem is with the discs with 2 different individuals and they couldn't really give a convincing answer (second guy suggested it's the lipping). I'm no expert but I had a quick look at the discs and there does not seem to be any significant corrosion issues. The only thing I noted is some lipping but i'm not sure if it's significant enough to require a disc replacement. I've attached a couple of picture and would appreciate your views. I just want to know whether I should be fine with just a pad replacement (at £90) and change the discs next time. They said they've classed it as amber so it's just an advisory.

Comparing to my car (2006 Golf) it's surprising that the discs are already "worn", I changed my rears 30k miles ago, I do mainly motorway miles and they are still like new.

On another note, the car is still in warranty, if I was to replace my discs/pads at an independent garage would that invalidate my warranty? I guess it would be ok if they used genuine part right?

Finally how much life do the pads roughly have with 4mm left? They couldn't answer that either. I appreciate thought that this is very much dependent on use. They said they change them at 2mm.

Many thanks in advance.

http://postimg.org/image/b1zbkpjtp/

http://postimg.org/image/s0wc5zw3j/