Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

2.2 D4D Strange Coolant

DG2.2

Hi All 

Bit of a strange one here, I took my car to an authorized Toyota dealer and said that Id been losing some coolant and they said it was the dreaded HG, I asked what they did to check it and they were not that forward with explaining how they came to this conclusion .

Im using about 200ml of coolant every two weeks and have small dots that look like coolant on the drive where I park when I check. It has been like this for around 6000 miles. It doesn't overheat - temp needle is always at the same point on the temp gauge, there is NO pressurization on the tank where I fill it up when I take the cap off when its cold or when its warm, NO bubbling when the car is running with the coolant cap off, there is NO white specks on the engine cover , NO leak from the overflow pipe . 

Im no mechanic but am a little concerned at the way the dealer came to this conclusion with out really getting to the bottom of it despite me asking what checks they had done. 

If anyone has any ideas as Im sure we have all read the various posts on the HG but this one is making me scratch my head.

Cheers