Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Cruise control on the cheap!

Kingsway

I just added cruise control to my 2014 Icon Hybrid - cost me all of £16.99 for the switch and about 5 minutes of my time!   This has made me wonder if there are any other upgrades it is possible to do via DIY means?

I'd love to be able to add keyless entry, for example.  Is that feasible, or can this only be done during the original car build?  Does anyone know?  TIA

cruise-control.jpg

• Thanks 2

Excellent work - well worth the money. This sort of thing can be done on Vauxhalls, but the ECU has to be programmed to suit.

What I would like would be heated seats, but I couldn't see any usable wiring for any switches I might buy -  not forgetting the seat parts.

good morning , im new to TOC im happy to be here and glad to found out exactly what im looking for, which is adding a cruise control 

do you think i can buy one for a toyota estima hybrid 2007?

I'm intrigued, I've a '14 reg (pre uplift) Icon petrol and I can't see where it would fit on the steering column binnacle. Does it go somewhere else?

15 hours ago, Mike J. said:

Excellent work - well worth the money. This sort of thing can be done on Vauxhalls, but the ECU has to be programmed to suit.

What I would like would be heated seats, but I couldn't see any usable wiring for any switches I might buy -  not forgetting the seat parts.

You can buy a kit from eBay for about £20, and it comes with four pads (2 for the back of the seat, 2 for the bottom of the seat) and it's wired up to a 12v power supply and comes with two switches. I'm contemplating buying them for my Corolla and 107, they look easy enough to install. Obviously you'd need to take the material of the seat off, fit them, and then refit it.

But £20 is £20!

7 minutes ago, mickburkesnr said:

You can buy a kit from eBay for about £20

I was hoping for:

1. buy the Toyota switches