Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Rusty Discs... Pic Inside

eternity575

thats that damn grinding noise ive been hearing for the past 2 months...

toyota replaced all the brake pads for free as part of the warranty.

and now i have this damn thing ..

is there a way to clean it?

thnx!

bah.jpg

pic is no good

discs look completely normal to me.

yeah completely normal :unsure:

your not gonna stop that happeneing

discs look completely normal to me.

NORMAL?????.. I can't beleive you guys are saying this is normal... look at your own discs i bet they are not like that.

NOT normal take it back to the shop get a NEW SET OF DISCS AND PADS .. i look at discs every day of every week as part of my job and the only time u see a rusty ring around the disc is wen the pads are not making contact with it... either u got the wrong pads put in or your discs are faulty or maybe even some kind of break imbalance........ does ithe car shudder under breaking.. if so warped disc(s) does it pull to the side under breaking if so imbalance of front breaks.

get it back to toyota for a check if they say all is ok then go for a 2nd opinion to your local garage... get any faults in writing then take it back to toyota and DEMAND they sort it

That rust is not on the disc surface though? I have seen that on many cars and seems completely normal to me as I have seen it so many times! :yes:

cfc your wrong mate , rust always appears where the pads dont connect ,they dont contact 100% of the disc surface. also the contact area can rust overnight even an hour or so when wet , and clears after a few presses of the pedal.

Yeah, normal. Rust forms very quickly on that part of the brake... wash your car and you'll see it. Then after a few presses of the brakes when driving you'll hear a grinding noise, then all will be well!