Do Not Sell My Personal Information

"lumpy" Idle?

Blue84

Hi All,

Was sitting in the Blue last night whilst my Friend when in and got us Pizza Hut (her idea, not mine), left the engine turned on as she only had to pop in and out again but the idle felt a bit lumpy, like something was slightly blocked?

When she got back in I said to her about it and she felt it too..does anyone else suffer from it? Could it be to do with Petrol?

When I had my Fiesta (yes a Ford!) it had the same problem but it was so bad it eventually nearly stalled on me and I had to keep it revving..turned out it was clogged spark plugs.

I'm no techie but the car is only 6 months old and done 5300 miles so I dont understand why it's happening?

Blue

mine did that a few weeks ago when i was sat at traffic lights. it felt as tho its was about to stall. but its been fine since. so i just put it down to the petrol cos it was down to the last 2 bars

sounds like it needs a good blast!

the rep told me that with the vvti lumps you have to take it to the redline in 1st - 3rd sort of once a week, as this helps to make sure no deposites have been left in the systems oil ways etc... and helps to wash them all through

i found mine did it on the odd occasion (even the mr2 does!) and if you just blip the throttle it soon stabilises, also as if the ecu just needs time to recalibrate itself for idle setting

Sometimes happens in mine aswell, nothing to worry about I should think! :thumbsup:

As Jaxx suggested, take it out on a spirited drive! :D

Yep i get it, its ok when i first fire up ticking over at ~1000rpm but after a run the revs drop below the solid bar on the tacho, the whole thing skakes and the exhaust nearly chucks itself into nextdoor's drive :D if i'm sat in it waiting i tend to just hold my foot on the accl just enough to stop the shakes, but its kinda worrying when it feels like its gonna stall out.