Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Can I Connect A Headunit Direct To Battery?

dermotos

Hi all,

Im a newbie here, althou i did read a lot here before i registered. (Thx for that tutorial on installing a head unit!!)

Anyway, i have just installed the head unit in my yaris, and its cool & all, but when playing mp3s and wmas from CDs or thru the USB port on the headunit (deadly innit?!) the load time is about 20 seconds. This is annoying, espically if im sitting, say, waiting in the car & listening to the stereo, then start the car. The stereo goes off, and no music for another 20 seconds. And it'll start at the particular mp3 file, but at the start of that file again.

What im asking is, Is it wise to connect both the Red (which normally goes to the power thats live when the ignition or accessory is on) to the yellow (direct bettery connection... nice and thick by the way) wire. Is there a surge from the Battery that could blow my stereo when i start the car? Its fused also, which raised suspicions for me.

I understand the stereo would not turn off when i turned off the engine, and thats fine, its what id like.

YEA another Paddy :D , i told ye we would take over, cant help ya sorry but welcome :thumbsup:

Hi all,

Im a newbie here, althou i did read a lot here before i registered. (Thx for that tutorial on installing a head unit!!)

Anyway, i have just installed the head unit in my yaris, and its cool & all, but when playing mp3s and wmas from CDs or thru the USB port on the headunit (deadly innit?!) the load time is about 20 seconds. This is annoying, espically if im sitting, say, waiting in the car & listening to the stereo, then start the car. The stereo goes off, and no music for another 20 seconds. And it'll start at the particular mp3 file, but at the start of that file again.