Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

1990 Corolla Gti Repairs

webtrawler84

hello all this is my first time on here but from what I can see I will be here more often from now on.

Anyway, A few weeks ago I got my self a new car. A 1990 Toyota Corolla 1.6 GTi.

I have started doing work to get it back to some state of repair but I am having real problems with rust.

This is the first car that I have attempted to restore / repair and I really need some guidence.

Being only 21 and on a low wage there are limitations on my abilities and budget.

can you please give some advice on how to treat this.

The Main Points are as Follows:

Both front Wings are Rusty - Found Replacement From wings and will be ordering soon

Tailgate Rusty - Replaced and Resprayed (or at least had ago)

Some rust emerging under passenger windows. - PLEASE HELP

Rusty Sunroof - PLEASE HELP (not leaking yet but look like it could start to soon).

The person that I had it off had really done a job on the sunroof (mainly involving bad fibreglassing and fillering).

Can anyone suggest places that I am able to get parts for this from I already know about fensport and of course eBay but was wondering if there are any others about.

Any help on this would be great.

thanks in advance

Glad to see your bringing back to life a classic AE92! Cool cars!

Well sunroofs are only available from Toyota for around £100-150 for the panel! Not cheap but no other choice im affraid! Unless you can get someone to repair it nicely!

And the rust under the passenger windows, i take it you mean its emerging from under the scraper and window seals?

If so remove the seals to see how bad the rust is, if only surface, you could rub it down, get rid of the rust then paint, but it its got holes through the metal, then best bit is cut out the old rust and weld in some new metal, or bodge it with fibreglass and filler!