• Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 lindholme

lindholme

• Registered Member
  • 5 posts
  • Toyota Model: Avensis 2.2 D4-D T-Sprit Wagon 2007

Posted 13 December 2006 - 03:40 PM

Hi all, newbie here. Nice to meet you all.

Has anyone fitted xenon bulbs to their Avensis headlights, and if so do they make a worthwhile difference?

Cheers.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 shroud

shroud

Club Member

• Registered Member
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Toyota Model: avensis

Posted 13 December 2006 - 06:40 PM

Hi all, newbie here. Nice to meet you all.

Has anyone fitted xenon bulbs to their Avensis headlights, and if so do they make a worthwhile difference?

Cheers.

I just used the 30% brighter bulbs which do a great job (10). Doesn't xenon lights require an expensive upgrade ?

#3 jamesholden

jamesholden

Guru Member

• Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Toyota Model: 2003 Camry 3.0 V6 CDX Auto

Posted 14 December 2006 - 06:29 AM

Geuine Xenon or HID costs a fortune to upgrade to because you need to upgrade the bulb holder to take the extra heat they produce, install and auto-levelling system and headlamp washers to make them legal.

Most cheap Xenon bulbs you see around are not real Xenon but slightly blue tinted standard bulbs that are a bit brighter.

#4 dawesy

dawesy

Midlands Meet Co-ordinator

• Super Moderator
  • 4,712 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: corolla gti 3S-GTE (RIP), 1994 Rev3 MR2 Turbo, 2010 Prius T Spirit

Posted 14 December 2006 - 08:03 AM

you can get propper hid kits for around 150. and they dont need any extra mods. most kits are plug and play

#5 bjw

bjw

Guru Member

• Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 538 posts
  • Toyota Model: blank

Posted 14 December 2006 - 08:50 AM

There is a known problem on the new Avensis concerning the headlights! firstly the range of light given on dipped beam is very poor