• PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • First Name:Jem
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model: Avensis 1.8
  • Year: 1998

Posted 10 May 2008 - 10:08 AM

I am a newbie here so 'Hi everyone!'

Yesterday my Avensis would not start. To date it has been so reliable - the reason I bought Toyota, but I suppose all components fail at some point.
Turn the key and that happenrd was a 'click/tick' sound from the engine bay.

Turns out it's the starter motor sticking, and the recovery driver said I need to get it sorted.
He gave it a few wacks with a hammer but it wouldn't free up so we got the car going with a tow and a bump start.

Rang several Toyota dealers this morning, cheapest quote was about 200.

Looked on ebay and saw
these.

Anyone tried these - are they any good?

And how easy is it to replace the started motor with regard to access under the motor?
I guess if you have the facilities it's not so bad, but I'm going to be crawling under a jacked-up car.
Easy job or not?

Anything I need to be aware of when fitting the starter motor?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 millhouse 84

millhouse 84

• Registered Member
  • 7 posts
  • Toyota Model: avensis

Posted 16 May 2008 - 11:40 AM

I am having same with my 02 d4d avensis I have looked around and ebay parts seem ok mate has landcrusier held together by ebay parts and no probs. I am going to try and recon mine. Go to 247 parts and you could fine recon and new at good prices.

#3 gazza1286

gazza1286

gazza1286

• Registered Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 991 posts
  • First Name:Gary
  • Toyota Model: Avensis 1.8SE 2000; MR2 MKII - Rev3 1996; Avensis 1.8 TR 2008; Celica VVTL-i 2005; MR2 mk3 2006
  • Year: 2008

Posted 16 May 2008 - 12:29 PM

There is a well documented problem with the Avensis ignition switches. Make sure the starter motor is at fault before parting with your cash.

#4 scenic

scenic

• Registered Member
  • 19 posts
  • Toyota Model: yaris 1.4 d4d sr