Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Toyota Rav4 Vvti Engine 2004

kevinvic

Hi everyone, I am new to all of this and not mechanically minded so please go easy!!

Let me first explain my dilema.

I am a soldier living in Cyprus and I own a 2004 2.0 litre VVTI Rav4. The car was bought in Cyprus but it is GB car. I have ran the car for 4 years perfectly the only thing wrong was a change of Battery. The car has full service history all done by Toyota however at this point in time the car is completely knackered, the engine just seized. I was driving along the motorway when the engine just stopped, no warning whatsoever. I had the car towed to the Toyota garage who charged me €400 to take out the engine and inspect it then I got a call to say it would cost €4500 to fix!!!

I was completely taken aback. First I was told that it needed a new conrod, 1 piston and 3 valves. The following day it was 1 camshaft, 1 piston and 3 valves, then 1 camshaft, 1 piston and 4 valves. I have since discovered on the quiet from a guy who does the work for Toyota that in fact it needs 1 crankshaft, 1 camshaft, 4 pistons, 1 conrod and 4 valves!!

Toyota said that they could not understand how it happened but I have been informed that the engine had no oil whatsoever. My car has never lost any oil. I cannot let on to Toyota that I know why the engine seized or the man who told me would get no more work from them.

I spoke to the head mechanic at Toyota GB who informed me that he knew straight away what had happened and had we been in the Uk they would have replaced the engine. He informed me of the 7 year warranty although the engines he had done were 1.6 and 1.8 and our 2.0 litre was the first he had come across.

Unfortunately as we are in Cyprus he can do nothing for us. I have found a technical service bulletin issued by Toyota 04.06 2007 but it just says 2AZ-FE-Engine block. KB which means nothing to me.