Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Gen 3 T-Spirit Radio - Tuning Fault

inspiredron

Is your radio tuning faulty  

2 members have voted

1. 1. Can your T-Spirit radio scroll through presets while display shows Map?

I have been complaining for several months about changing channels on the radio.

If the screen is showing audio then I can choose to either scroll through the presets or through the full station list according to the preference that I have set. Normally I will want to scroll through my 6 presets and the radio is set accordingly.

However, with the navigation map (instead of the audio) on the display any attempt to change station will ALWAYS scroll through the full channel list even though the radio is set for presets rather than station list. The fault occurs whether I use the steering up/down control or the tuning knob on the dash.

That means that if I want to change from Classic FM to Radio 4 while on th e motorway I have two choices:

1. Touch the AUDIO button, use the up/down and then touch the MAP/Voice button

2. Ust the up/down button repeatedly until I recognise the station I want after repeated presses.

Either of these solutions means that my attention is diverted from the road unnecessarily.

The latest from my dealer is to remind me that thsi is a feature of all the Gen 3 T-Spirits and should be regarded as a "design characteristic" which they are unable to do anything about.

I have responded that this "design characteristic" renders the radio as "not of merchantable quality".

Does your T-Spirit have this fault? Please respond yes or no and, if yes, please consider asking your dealer to deal with it.

That means that if I want to change from Classic FM to Radio 4 while on th e motorway I have two choices:

1. Touch the AUDIO button, use the up/down and then touch the MAP/Voice button