Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Changing Gears

zlatko_k

Hi to all...

I have my Aygo for 3 years now. Ever since I bought it, I've been having problems with changing from first to second gear. I have taken the car to my dealer and they changed pressure plate at the clutch and changed the oil in the gear box, but that didn't help at all.

They said the problem will reduce after 5000+ km, but I have traveled 14.000 km till now and still have the problem.

The problem is that when the car is cold, especially in winter, I have great difficulty to change from first to second gear. I really have to push on the gear stick to put it in second and it makes grinding noise. When the car gets wormed up, it goes reasonably well in to gears, but still some times it grinds. helpsmilie.gif

I want to ask if any one else has experienced this kind of behavior on their Aygo?

Can some one help me what to ask my dealer to check, as I'm not good with cars. huh.gif

Thank you. rolleyes.gif

WOW... 140 views and no reply... I guess i'm really the only one with this kind of problem... jeeeeee, lucky meeeee.... yahoo.gif

So only first to second? And they allready changed clutch-parts?

Did they also adjust the clutchcable? Thats all I can think of right now...

What grade of gearbox oil did they use? The reason why I've asked that is that I've just changed my box oil on my Avensis and I was informed by the main dealer that putting anything other that a straight 75w grade would cause problems when changing gear, especially when cold.

So I bought some Silkolene Pro SRG 75 (Full-synthectic ester racing gear oil)to put in. Not had a chance to see what its like yet.

Check in your owners manuel to see what it recommends, and find out what oil was placed in your gearbox...

you say they changed the pressure plate,but no mention of the drive plate.

its normal to replace both together and any thrust bearing.

i should think they done this.

you could ask.

is your dealer a toyota one.