Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Mr2 Alarm Problem

hydroscot

Hi, I am new to the TOC so apologies if this (and presume it has) been aired before, but I have viewed the 10 most recent topics and see no reference to the Alarm system.

My wife has just purchased a used (10 years) old MR2 roadster, new shape, loves it etc. etc.

Problem is that when she puts it to bed in the garage, the alarm goes off when the metal up & over door is lowered (or raised).

Can we adjust the sensitivity?

I have to say that we did have a similar alarm problem with a Celica, which was resolved by not storing keys or metal objects in the between seats cubby, but as there is'nt one on the MR2 we don't know where to stop!

Help please!

Thanks

Hi and welcome to the club :thumbsup:

Mine has done this all the time in my eight years of ownership, I wouldn't put this down to over sensitivity, more of the fact that the alarm is doing what it should do. If some scrote decided to break into your garage and the alarm sounded because of the sudden difference in air pressure/noise/movement (which is what our system does) then I would leave well alone, just click to disarm before opening the garage. :yes:

Les

Hi and welcome to the club :thumbsup:

Mine has done this all the time in my eight years of ownership, I wouldn't put this down to over sensitivity, more of the fact that the alarm is doing what it should do. If some !Removed! decided to break into your garage and the alarm sounded because of the sudden difference in air pressure/noise/movement (which is what our system does) then I would leave well alone, just click to disarm before opening the garage. :yes:

Les

Hi GIDDLEPIN,

Thanks for the pompt reply, but when you say click to disarm, presume you mean lock / unlock on the key fob?

We did try leaving the car unlocked in the garage, but the alarm still went off! Should this happen?

Regards