Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Mixed Tyre Load Index For Yaris, Is It Ok?

redY

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to this Toyota Club, but there's something that I want to ask...I hope I'm at the right place.

My Yaris' rear tyres were worn, so I went to KwikFit to get a new pair.

I decided to get the Marangoni Verso tyres, which were 185/60/15 88H, I realised that the load index were higher (88H), I asked the mechanic if it was ok to have 2 88H tyres at the rear and 2 84H tyres at the front. The mechanic said it was ok, as long as the tyre size is the same and the speed rating is the same...so i went for it and got them fitted. After fitting it, the drive was more stable and more comfortable.

My question is, it is really ok to fit 2 88H tyres at the rear and 2 84H tyres at the front? (The standard tyres for the car were 84H).

Would it fail a MOT test? Would it affect insurance policies or anything?

I now have 2 Marangoni Verso 185/60/15 88H at the rear and 2 Roadstone Classe Premiere 185/60/15 84H at the front.

Thanks!

=)

Technically, as long as the load index is at least as much as the original equipment tyres, then you're OK (84 on the Yaris), so technically and legally you are OK.

But I must admit that I winced when I read your post.

If you can take some constructive advice from an oldie for next time you need to replace the tyres....

The tyres are the only thing holding your car onto the road. There are many online tests that show that there are major differences in grip between different tyres.