Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

D4D Lack Of Power

p1ranhas

hi newbie here on for first time, last week while driving my 2005 2.2 d4d t spirit, the missus over revved in first gear, i heard a blowing noise from under the bonnet, like a hose popping or an air line being removed, instantly the car lost power and now feels like there is no turbo boost. there were no warning lights on the dash, no smoke from the exhaust. the engine still lacks power and revs through the range with no turbo boost. it doesnt look like the actuator rod on the turbo vacuum diaphragm is operating, any ideas what to check before i throw money at a dealer?

cheers

hi mate

- undo intake rubber hose from the turbo and try to rotate the shaft -- is it rotated easy or ...?

at the same time check with rotor play in both axis and radial directions. your observations are required on here;

- it seems yout turbo is equipped with variable vanes -- check with their rotation around respective axis pins;

- open EGR -- check with carbon deposits right there - the holes must be free (both)

- check with VSC on the turbo

- check with condition of engine air filter -- is that clogged or not?

- check with both SCV on the pump -- their solenoid coils resistances must be an equal with manual recorded

regards / Igor

hi newbie here on for first time, last week while driving my 2005 2.2 d4d t spirit, the missus over revved in first gear, i heard a blowing noise from under the bonnet, like a hose popping or an air line being removed, instantly the car lost power and now feels like there is no turbo boost. there were no warning lights on the dash, no smoke from the exhaust. the engine still lacks power and revs through the range with no turbo boost. it doesnt look like the actuator rod on the turbo vacuum diaphragm is operating, any ideas what to check before i throw money at a dealer?

cheers