Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Troublesome Avensis

Bwithers

Hello,

I have had my 2005 Toyota Avensis for 12 months now and have a couple of issues I would like some advice on please?

a) Since its last oil change 12 months it has used 2 litres of oil. I exhaust looks normal and it doesnt smoke.

B) The air heater in the car does not heat the air consistenly...it becomes warm when it wants...despite being on hot all the time.

The water level in the radiator top up tank seems to disappear as well. That drops from max to min within 3 months. What can I top this up with...the manual says not to use water by itself.

Thanks for any insight!

Cheers,

Bryce

I have no special knowledge about the 2005 avensis as I have just bought a 2001 Avensis myself, but

if anyone are to give you any recommandations they would at least need to know the model of engine, what distance the car has been driven in the 12 months you have owned it and its total mileage. Did you check the oil level after you bought the car? Did the engine need 2 litres of oil to reach the same level on the dipstick? IIRC my cars engine (1AZ-FSE) takes 1.8 litres from the minimum to the maximum level on the dipstick. I have read that the 1.8 vvti have had oil problems, but they should have been sorted by 2005.

a) Since its last oil change 12 months it has used 2 litres of oil. I exhaust looks normal and it doesnt smoke.

B) The air heater in the car does not heat the air consistenly...it becomes warm when it wants...despite being on hot all the time.

The water level in the radiator top up tank seems to disappear as well. That drops from max to min within 3 months. What can I top this up with...the manual says not to use water by itself.