Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Yaris Hybrid Hill Start Assist?

Phil_1985

Hi all, please bare with me I have little knowledge about toyota hsd's and the correct terminologies!

I recently had a Yaris hybrid as a courtesy car for three days from my local dealer...

I soon discovered that it had the hill start assist function (unsure if this is toyotas offical term for it) where it is activated by depressing the brake pedal firmly when at a stand still.

Why does it have this feature? Would a hybrid roll back on a steep incline?

Most autos won't roll (I say most.. referring to torque convertor/cvt and not those mmt boxes!) However what about a hybrid with it's e-cvt? (unsure if correct hsd term again sorry)

If it is a very steep hill there is a risk that it will roll back because the amount of "creep" of the car is not enough to overcome gravity pulling it backwards.

The hill start assist is there just to give you that 2 seconds to get your foot from the brake pedal to the accelerator.

Or you could use the handbrake.

I think it's more a case of recent cars do tend to have hill assist, rather than something hybrid-specific. Can't really see the point of it tbh, but then I was born and raised in the Alps so doing hill starts (using the handbrake) is pretty much second nature

Like Yolina, I don't see much point in it as you do have the handbrake. I can say the car will roll back and it doesn't need much gradient. The concern is not just following traffic, but also the handbook warning(in the case of the Auris) that it will damage the transmission.

I find Hill Start Assist a great feature.

It's just less faffing around which is what having an automatic is all about.

Also, the gen3 Prius doesn't have a handbrake (it is foot operated) so HSA is very welcome ;)