Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Boot Button Stuck

square1

Hi all. I have a little problem with the boot of my 06 reg Aygo, which is that after I press the boot button it remains stuck in, preventing the lid latching on when I close it. I am managing it by just flicking the button out with the car key or wiggling it out with my fingers. I've tried to remedy it using WD-40 and spray lube but without success.

The problem began after I (perhaps stupidly) attempted to check that I had in fact locked the car in the usual way using the remote central locking. I usually do this by trying to open one of the passenger doors, but on this occasion, I pressed in the boot button. In other words, I pressed the button in when the car was locked. Perhaps that shouldn't necessarily cause this fault to happen, but I'm no expert!

Any suggestions?

Thanks Frosty, I actually know how to pop it out from the inside, but I'd like to eliminate the problem altogether!

According to the following thread the boot lock was redesigned a while ago - using plastics that aren't affected so much by temperature changes - http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/108865-boot-button-sticking/?hl=%2Bboot+%2Bbutton

Could always send Parts King a personal message and make enquiries about cost, etc.

Someone else had used white grease (lithium grease) on the mechanism rather than WD40 and the like - which seemed to cure the issue for them.

Thanks, I should mention that so far I haven't sprayed anything on the inside (i.e. the parts that can be seen behind the hatched plastic covering) . I'm a bit cautious about doing that as I don't want to wrong it in the process of trying to right it! However, if there's a consensus that I should then I will.

• 2 weeks later...