Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Replace T27 Rear Discs

Unpackedrope

Hi all.

I have an Avensis 59 plate (2009) T27 saloon which has an electronic handbrake. The discs and pads need changing all round and rather than pay a fortune to a garage I'd intended to do it myself. I've a lot of experience of car maintenance including brakes so I'd expected it to be straight forward.

The fronts were easy however the rear seems to be designed to go back to Toyota. Is it true that it needs to be connected to a computer to release the rear caliper? Or is it possible, perhaps by the manually winding it back 100's of turns method in the user manual to release the calipers without the need to visit Mr T?

Thanks in anticipation.

The rear calipers do need to be wound back when new pads are fitted, also the rear parking brake ECU does need to have its "Zero point" recalibrated to accept the new pads ( A Toyota Job via their diagnostic equipment ) otherwise damage can occur to the electronic parking brake actuator, pads, discs and the drive away auto release may not operate.

As feared... thanks for that.

Thanks. Spotted that - seems to have been reawakened after my OP (I did search!).

I know 'a boy' that has a machine and may or may not be able to plug in and reset. Will see tomorrow morning.

If it has to go to Toyota then so be it but I already have the discs and pads so don't want to fork out for them again and pay their rather high labour cost.

Let me know how you get on - I'll have to do this in six months on my 2009 T27 too.