Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

What I Noticed Today,may Be Daft Question.

fastbob72

Was looking under the car today to check out the small coolant leak I have.After stating on another thread about the importance of a fully functioning system and the dangers of a compromised cooling system along with the unseen damage it can cause I figured I should follown my own advice and fix it asap. As it's at the bottom hose I jacked her up to try and view the problem from below.

I've a lot of experience now with cars, an avid reader of the egineering concepts behind our cars and am learning more and more dailly about the Avensis and Toyotas in general but there is such an incredible amount to learn,more than i've years to learn it in but I saw something that I am sure is wrong but perhaps I'm just making a fool of myself for asking but.......

Where the engine and the gearbox meet there's the lower part of the bellhousing that is normally visible behind and below the sump/rear crank seal area. Now every car I've ever had has a light metal covering plate botled vertically in place to sheild the bottom part of the flywheel and ring gear. It's not sealed with a gasket normally as there are no fluids or oil to prevent from leaking.

When I was under mine I noticed the bottom of the flywheeel and ring gear exposed, there's no covering plate there. I didn't have room to get in close to look for bolt holes around the bottom of face of the housing where such a plate to be fixes but surely there has to be one there,surely???

I changed the oil. 3 or 4 months ago and am positive i'd have noticed if my ring gear was on view but it didn't register which suggests there was nothing there i wasn't expecting. i.e a plate like all other cars.