Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Air con problems

Pendlelad

Hi there,

I bought an Aygo about 3 months ago but its only recently that i've noticed the a/c is not working. It's my first car so im not familiar with how it works etc. The green light comes on when i press the air con button but nothing else (no sound of a fan or anything). The blowers work fine but i would like the air con to work!

Any help would be appreciated but dont get too technical (im not an engineer).

Pendlelad

Hello jack - welcome to Toyota Owners Club.

Air conditioning uses the car's blower fans to distribute the cooled air so if the fans are working OK I would discount those. In the first instance I would get the air con system tested for leaks, and then, if leak free, re-gassed.

Also when working, ideally air con needs to be used at least once a week throughout the year. This keeps the seals within the system lubricated. In winter, air con used with the heater makes for faster demisting of the windows.

Press the button. Get the green light on. Turn the temp knob all the way to the cold setting. Does the air blowing out the vents feel very cold? Yes? It's working. If it's just ambient temp then it's not working. 

Use it at least once a week for 15 minutes.  Otherwise be prepared to pay out for repairs on a regular basis. 

On 25/09/2016 at 11:46 PM, Pendlelad said:

Hi there,

I bought an Aygo about 3 months ago but its only recently that i've noticed the a/c is not working. It's my first car so im not familiar with how it works etc. The green light comes on when i press the air con button but nothing else (no sound of a fan or anything). The blowers work fine but i would like the air con to work!

Any help would be appreciated but dont get too technical (im not an engineer).

Pendlelad

Hi jack,

I take it your car has manual air conditioning and doesn't have a button marked AUTO.