Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Terrible headlights

Rollo316

Hi this is my first time posting and I'm sure this topic has came up a lot.

i recently purchased the  Auris business edition, 2016 I've recently noticed that the dipped headlights are not that good in the dark, for a new car I would expect the lighting to project better which it doesn't.  My Mazda 2 headlights seemed better than this car lol.  Just wondering if anyone has upgraded the headlights to better bulb etc ? 

Cheers 

If your car has the HIR2 bulbs, the only direct replacement upgrade currently available is the Osram Cool Blue Intense, which provides up to an approximate 20% increase in brightness. However at around £36 per bulb, they are quite expensive - https://www.powerbulbs.com/product/osram-cool-blue-intense-hir2-single

There are new Toyota HIR2 bulbs avaliable. I've just got them on my Auris. The light is much more bright, the factory ones were more yellow. I think Toyota calls them 'Optiwhite' and claims 60% more light. The price is around 60£ for the pair. 

Hi nielshm where did you get the bulbs from ? The only ones I've came across are orsam intense blue and standard philips hir2.  Neither claim to give 60% brighter light  

8 hours ago, Rollo316 said:

Hi nielshm where did you get the bulbs from ? The only ones I've came across are orsam intense blue and standard philips hir2.  Neither claim to give 60% brighter light  

I just asked my local Toyota dealer, and they installed the bulbs too. 

1509515044647499762758.jpg

• Thanks 1

There is some improvement. The light is more White, better brightness. The range is better, but not much. The thing about light is that you forget in 10 sec. how the old bulbs used to perform. 

• 2 weeks later...