Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Rav4 XA40 disc/pad replacement

JONAH1947

2015 RAV4 XA40, 19,700 miles. While my car was being serviced yesterday by a l;ocal Toyota dealer I was informed that the front discs & pads were badly worn and needed replacing. I agreed to this and the work was completed. I felt that this should be done under warranty but they insisted it was normal wear & they saw it quite often. Have other people had this problem. I am a steady driver and do not brake aggressively. In the recent past I have had a few vehicles and put 40,000 to 60,000 miles on them without the need for replacement discs. Pads were replaced on one at 55,000 miles. What are peoples thoughts on this?

How long disks and pads last very much depends on the material.  Soft pads do not last as long as hard pads, but hard pads wear disks faster.  Pressure is not a great factor, as lighter pressure requires the brakes to be applied for longer to achieve the same braking effect.  A larger determinant is speed - driving faster will tend to increase the amount of braking required.

When comparing to other vehicles, the weight of the vehicle is a large factor.  Rav4 may be heavier than previous vehicles. Heavier vehicles tend to have more powerful brake servos, so the driver is not necessarily aware that his brakes are working harder (and wearing more).  This could be compensated for with larger braking surfaces, but newer vehicles have more emphasis on lower emissions/better mpg, which discourages manufacturers from doing that, in order to minimise weight.

As they say oop North, tha' doesn't get owt for nowt.