Do Not Sell My Personal Information

GT86 reliability?

colouredman

I need some advice please. I’m a long time lover of Toyota cars; I’ve been driving a Yaris for the last 8 years which has been virtually bombproof.

Im very happy with the Yaris for daily driving, but I have an MR2 for weekends, and summer runs out etc. That too has been super reliable but it has virtually no luggage space etc. I’m thinking of selling it and replacing it with another coupe, i.e a GT86, for the same purpose; fun,not daily car. Friends say to buy an Audi TT coupe instead, but I wanna stick with Toyota. Judging by my MR2 it will only do about 2000 miles a year and would always be garaged and on trickle charge in between. With this in mind I have a few questions:

1. Is the GT86 as reliable as is usual with Toyotas?

2. If properly and regularly serviced, would a high miler still be a good buy? (I’m thinkin a 12 to 14 Reg).

3. Any rust issues apart from the well documented quarter light pillar?

4. Automatic or manual?

5. Any particular problems to be aware of?

Any other miscellaneous relevant info much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Tim

• Like 1

Starting point may be the Good & Bad section of the Honest John reviews of the GT86 and the Subaru BRZ (sister car to the GT86 - both built by Subaru) -

https://www.honestjohn.co.uk/carbycar/toyota/gt86-2012/good/

https://www.honestjohn.co.uk/carbycar/subaru/brz-2012/good/

6 hours ago, FROSTYBALLS said:

Starting point may be the Good & Bad section of the Honest John reviews of the GT86 and the Subaru BRZ (sister car to the GT86 - both built by Subaru) -

Hi, yes thank you. Yre absolutely right, and  I have read as many of those reports and reviews as are out there, in the last year or so. Theoretically therefore I feel I know a lot about them, but hearing things direct from owners is where it’s at. Also sometimes those reviews are in conflict with owners experiences. A great example of that is the Audi TT.