Do Not Sell My Personal Information

E120 subframe/ crossmember replacing by beginner?

Hi.

Is it possible for a complete novice to change out the front subframe / crossmember on a Corolla E120 station wagon from 2002. Does it requires any special tools other than the standard socket wrenches, WD40 and jacks?. As far as I can see it should be pretty straight forward as long as the bolts will come undone. And you remove it along with the control arms which then have to unmounted and put on the new part and then again mount the whole thing to the car. There are no bushings that require special tools because the old ones are on the control arm and they wont be removed right?

I am pretty much a novice when it comes to car repairs. But its not because I dont know how to handle tools. I have replaced a dampner in an old BMW E30 years ago. I just havent had many changes to mess around with my cars and now my corolla failed a MOT because of a little rust in the subframe.

To make sure there is no confusion, this is the car.
And this is the part that needs replacing

Hi,

You want to see this toyota tech doing a clutch replacement by removing the subframe, so you can see how it come out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hCL2s-Gv_0

( however the clutch and gearbox can be diy removed without removing the subframe)

Think we would use an engine beam support  from the start as looks like they allow the whole engine to be supported on just two mounts until they use the support under the sump.

Are you replacing the subframe due to damage or rust, if the latter  probably worth replacing the wishbones which are good value if you get the ones with the rubber bushes and balljoints included.

Be worth replacing the clutch while doing all that work .

Hi Again,

Missed your comment about the "little rust"  mot failure.