Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Auris 2014 1.6VVTi Headlights & main beam problem.

Mike467

Hello everyone. I am a newbie on this Forum and have had Toyota's for many years now, but have not needed to ask for advice…...until now.

I bought a 2014 Auris 1.6 VVTi about a year ago, but due to lockdown, literally didn’t use it at night, but when I did, the headlight issue with this era of Auris was obvious. They are truly like glow-worms in a jam jar. I have found many items on this forum about it and, yes, it is incredible that Toyota could get away with selling cars with lethal headlights. My wife refuses to drive it at night. I have been driving for 50 years and have never seen anything like this.

As with others, Toyota refuse point blank to address this issue, or offer any remedy. The first owner should really have rejected the car.

My attempts to improve things have involved me fitting Phillips X-tremeVision Pro150 HIR2 bulbs. These are said to be 150% brighter, but that was £56.00 down the drain, it made little difference.

Now I come to my current problem, I’m resigned to the lights being useless. I attempted to clean the inside of the lens with some long IPA swabs I have, but when I tested it, the main beam has stopped working. The fuse is okay, but I’m worried that I might have damaged or jammed the shutter, as I believe these are projector lights? I’m assuming the shutter is triggered by a solenoid?

Has anyone had this sort of problem with the main beam and does it mean a very costly replacement or can I take the light out and strip it?

Many Thanks

My commiserations about your headlamps.

The headlamp shutter is indeed operated by a solenoid.  Unfortunately, you can only get to it after you have split the headlamp outer Shell open, which it is not designed to do (clips, mastic type sealant).  Removing the headlamp is a bumper off job, by the way.  As it the headlamp tucks into the bumper void, a bit.