Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Corolla Verso T Spirit D-4D Year: 2005 Engine: 1CDFTV: 2000CC Diesel Turbo lacking power, particularly going up the hill.

Soheil

I'm new to the Toyota Club and would be grateful if anyone could point me to potential fix for my:

Verso T Spirit D-4D

Year:2005

ENGINE: 1CDFTV - 2000CC DIESEL TURBO

Manual gearbox

lacking power, particularly when going up the hill.

The car was being used for short distances in town for some time.

Then the engine light came on, YAW Rate Sensor was changed, still running very sluggish.

3 of the 4 Glow Plugs had gone dead.

Changed all 4 but was still running very slow and smoking.

The mechanic cleaned the Exhaust system, which made improvements.

We have used spay can, spraying the air flow in the EGR valve path, but the car still does not have the power it used to have.

I have added number Diesel additives to the tank, and whilst the car can go up to around 80 mph, but it certainly slows down as soon as it comes to going up the hill.

I must change down gear, push the Rev up to very high to keep the momentum. 

Monitoring the engine with a computer does not show any errors.

Should I buy a new EGR valve, and have it changed?

or could be the Turbo, which is quite expensive 😞?

Incidentally, I recently bought a newer Year 2015 Verso 4-D4 1.6 litre (which I have register in this club and has had its Toyota Recall fix relating to EGR valve overheating).

But the problem I am discussing here is related to our older Year 2005 2.0 D-4D Diesel.

Thanks again

What mileage has your 2005 Verso done? Has the fuel filter ever been changed or checked for water ingress?

• 3 weeks later...

I hate to say this, but this is a can of worms. Been there and going through it myself with the old Avensis (2004). Same engine.

You will do your research here and the obvious stuff and cheaper stuff are the ones to go for first.