Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Should I get my clutch checked?

hayleyquinnx

Hello, I'm a new driver and my 2014 Aygo X Play is my first car but I've known for years I wanted an aygo. I did my test in it yesterday and it went really well except for the fact that I kept stalling it, it was stalling that actually cost me the pass which was SO frustrating as the examiner said I only had 6 minors unrelated to stalling before I finally stalled again on a roundabout in the last 5 minutes. 

Anyway, I know Aygos are notorious for their very high bite point but I've never had issues stalling any of the cars I've learnt in so I know it's just getting used to this clutch, but my partner who's been driving for 12 years has also stalled it a few times too so I was wondering if before my next test I should get it looked at? It's had one previous owner who from what I can gather was probably quite young (the bluetooth connected to my phone as "the matt mobile" so I can totally envision a 19 year old cruising round mcdonalds in it lol), I'm 28 so definitely not trying to race folk in my little aygo lol.

It passed its MOT but I don't think they check the clutch in that so I was curious about how I would know if the bite point is just really high and I need to get used to it still (driven it for about 12-15 hours total I think?) or if the clutch might have been worn out by its previous owners. 

For the sake of making it easier for my next test would anyone recommend I get someone to lower the bite point or is that not recommended? 

Go easy on me, I'm aware it could just be that I need to get used to this car, I'm just conscious I've never had this much trouble with stalling in other petrol cars, but I'm aware this could just be something I have to practice so please don't think I'm blaming the car! Just want to make sure I'm giving myself the best chance next time! 

Thanks everyone 🙂