Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Hello from Switzerland

martin.b

Hello guys and girls

I'm new here on the forum and want to use this oportunity to introduce me and my car.

First about myself:

'89 Model year from Switzerland. Got my license at 19 and have driven a small variety of cars, from Alfa Romeo (3), to BMW (3), to the odd Peugeot and VW and a handful of motorcycles. 

I love working on my cars and motorcycles, although I am not a trained mechanic. But my brother is, and he helps me with the tricky stuff.

The first time I drove a Celica was my aunt's ST 16 convertible and I immediately fell in love with it. It had great a engine sound, good economy, a very high reliabilty and pretty good handling for a FWD drive car. This is saying a lot, since I swore to never drive a FWD again after the horrible mess that was my VW Golf IV, the Peugeot was not so bad though (309, back in the early 90's when Peugeot used to be a driver's car). 

When the time came to get a second car for me to get to work in winter times, I had a broad choice, but when I saw that black 6th gen for sale for a low price, I knew I had to have it. Even though it was in terrible shape I was pretty optimistic because it was a Toyota, and their Landcruisers and Hiluxes are still driving all over the world without much hassle, so why should it be any different for their other cars?

Now about the car:

It's a 1996 GT with the 175 horsepower engine, bought just shy over 194'000 kms for 1100 quid (asking price was 1600).

What had to be done after buying:

- Full service with timing belt, water pump, rolls and tensioner, new ignition cords (got a pretty good zap from the old ones), air filter and 2 short oil intervals of 1'000 kms with cheapo 5W-30. 

- New ARB links, new KYB dampers, brake pads and 1 ABS sensor in front.