Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Having a nightmare with lost keys Toyota Corolla 1.8 vvt-i hybrid icon tech 5dr cvt

harleyg98

I'm helping out a friend (Philip), who isn't too comfortable with computers.

His brother died last year, leaving him his Toyota Corolla 1.8 vvt-i hybrid icon tech 5dr cvt.

Unfortunately Philip has been unable to locate the keys for the car.

He's been authorised by the solicitors to remove the car but obviously can't without the keys.

He's been to the local Macclesfield Toyota dealership  – but they've quoted him £4,500 (you read that right) saying they had to replace the whole computer system and God knows what else.

I've been using computers for 40 years now and can't believe that Toyota haven't got the tech to 'interrogate' the car's system and produce a new set of keys.

I found a local automotive technician – working out of Manchester Airport - who came highly recommended

He quoted £450 for two keys which Phil was happy to accept.

Unfortunately, the sparks has been round to have a go at the car - twice - spending around 4 hours in total - but can't sort it.

He tells Phil that he's struggling to get hold of a 'part'

He thought he'd located one - had another go but was still unable to fix the problem.

Phil's been very patient - waiting over two weeks – but the 'techy' has stopped answering his phone - so we're guessing he's given up on sorting it.

The car is in Bollington, near Macclesfield.

Can anyone recommend a technician who may be able to sort the problem?

Thanks in hope.

• Sad 3

34 minutes ago, harleyg98 said:

I've been using computers for 40 years now and can't believe that Toyota haven't got the tech to 'interrogate' the car's system and produce a new set of keys.