Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Toyota Yaris 2018 clutch too precise

Rahan

Hello fellow toyota drivers!

I bought brand new Toyota Yaris in 2018 and still have it, I am a driving instructor so different people drive the car every day.

One major issue I've had I the number of stalls I get, daily almost every lesson. The biting point on this car is literally a hairline, 1 mm to high and stall! I always teach my pupils to set the gas first which typically is very sensitive as well! 

Now I would say I'm being fussy or not teaching well or all my pupils are bad but this is the 8th car I've had and I've never had similar issues with my previous cars.

I was wondering is this normal or this vehicle or do I happen to have a 'special' one? I've also had the clutch replaced with genuine Toyota parts and exactly same issue, for me it's fine but I can tell if I drive another car how unforgiving the biting point is on my Toyota. 

Is there any way to 'widen' the biting point if the is such a thing?

Moved to the Yaris forum.

I have the 2019 and haven't noticed the biting point being any worse than my previous car which was a Corsa 1.2 petrol.

I do agree it needs a bit more revs to stop the revs dropping but i wouldn't call it hairline trigger, i assumed that it was down to it having 6 gears as the Corsa had 5.

• Like 1

I found the same thing when  I owned a manual 2017 Yaris. When I and my wife first got it we would stall frequently and it took a lot of getting used to.

Hi,