Do Not Sell My Personal Information

'91 Gt ..rebuilt Or Give Her Up? 406,000 Km

LisaJ

Hi all..I'm a newbie...please be kind (and honest):)..I have owned my car for 11 years and love it..it has gone places(gravel roads..fields..etc) where a Celica should have never been and the body is still in great shape.In that time my only major repair has been a clutch and struts..in the last year it has been leaking oil and I have had all the seals replaced...the past week I had the rear seal done and after that I thought I was home free..but alas..I'm now getting blue smoke from the exhaust..is this the end?I just spent close to $2000 for all of this..well a new alternator,a cv boot..and a couple little things(hey..things wear out after 12 years :)).Anyways I'm torn between getting a rebuilt or just finally giving her up.What do you all think?..Thanks in advance. :)

Hey LisaJ, welcome to wherever you are.

Where you at? USA or Canada methinks.

You obviously know how good the Celica is. 12 years and still kicking.

They will last a lot longer than that if looked after.

Mine is a 1991 GT in white and is still cruising smoothly after 165,000 miles.

I had the alternator and exhaust replaced a year ago and the clutch replaced last month and now need a power steering belt and it will be 100% perfect again.

I don't exactly know what the blue smoke is but it should be worth taking it to a trusted mechanic and getting a proper diagnosis.

This generation of Celica is a great car, if can keep it running I would recommend it for sure.

If, however you do decided to buy another car lets hope it's still a Celica.

While I remember, go to the General Discussion forum and check out the Celica our man Rhaines has posted pictures of under the heading scots '73 celica. It is a real beauty. Make 12 years old look like a baby.