Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Handling Issues

Avensis wagon

Hi, I'm a newbie. Own a 2001 model Corolla 1.6 vvt-i, looking to buy a new Avensis 1.8 estate. UK citizen living in Finland.

I know the Avensis is of quality build, reliable, quiet, quite refined though not a dazzler. And the power to fuel economy ratio is more than acceptable.

But here in Finland everyone seems to agree that the Avensis is pushed off course all too easily by irregularities in the road suface and cross winds, not to mention having overly sensitive electronic power steering. Too much driver input required while at the same time lacking feedback.

The problem is compounded by our roads -- if you imagine that we drive with metal-studded tyres half the year, damn great grooves are left in the tarmac in summer. They're like tram lines, dragging you in and pushing you out. I've also noticed even UK reviews pointing out that the Avensis is quick to stray off course.

Any comments? Some have said that wheel alignment has fixed the problem.

P.S. Other contenders for me are Mazda 6 2.0 (Good handling, OK ride, reasonable performance and fuel economy), new Octavia (look at the performance of the 2.0 litre and the fuel economy, good handling, but plain inside and no Japanese reliability), Nissan Primera (seen better performing 1.8s and 2.0s in power and fuel econ, ride and handling OK, good price, loads of goodies, distinctive style like the Mazda)

FYI: The Toyota Corolla is Finland's most sold car, and the Avensis is the most sold in its class (Primera second at the moment due to aggressive pricing, Mazda also well respected). At -25 you need reliability -- engine, electrics, door locks, petrol hatches, you name it. Japanese cars might not have the French ride, but nothing in Europe is as reliable. Every taxi driver in the local town had a C5 last year, and now they don't...