Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Supra Mk3 Autobox Problem?

Nitrotoy

Hi All,

I'm new here btw!

I have a mk3 single turbo, and the auto box seems to be missing the second gear, It will go to the rev limiter in 1st gear, throttle off and then it will change but it seems to jump straight to 3rd?

If i select 2 under Drive on the selector, just seems to rev its nuts off (i think its 1st gear thats why!) Could this be Brake band adjustment.

I'm a mechanic, and maybe able to get access to the mk3 toyota supra auto box manual, but just wondered if this is a common problem?

:eek: 233,000 miles engine still going strong !!! gotta love the jap's !!

If you launch and carry onn accelerating without movong your foot on the accelerator, does it pick up speed toa cruise running through the gears, or does it seem to "miss one"?

It may well be from your post that you have got second and are mistaking it from first... the 7M is a very low reving engine, and it has lots of low end torque.. you could quite happily pull away in second being no the wiser! In "normal" driving first seems to be rarely used in my car...

Have you tried, resetting the ECu, and checking the kickdown cable from proper adjustment?

Also how are your fluids for the auto box? What year car is it???

its a g reg 1990.

Fluid is ok!

If i boot it hard, it just dont change correctly.

Do i reset ECU by disconnecting the Battery for a lenth of time?

Booting it hard sounds likea the kickdown cable to me!!!!

Has the car recently had the headgasket done??? or any other engine work that would involve moving the kickdown/throttle cable??

Disconect if for a while, both terminals... some people swear on tapping the brake lights to to make sure there is no residual charge.. I just undo it... While its ressetting, This is your friend

Click on auto transmission.. somewere it should tell you how to to adjust it!