Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Advice Needed

CharlieCad

right then, lets get to it iv got a mark 3 MR2 black red seats... but my problem is that i bought it without standard wheels its got 17" toyota alloys all round, they look good but dnt feel right. please correct me if im wrong they usually ride on 15" alloys on the front and 16" on the back?? when driven upwards of 40mph the front gets light and doesnt steer right (not nice at all) driven a frends and its fine. Had the wheel elinment checked and it was spot on soo the qurstion is What could the problem be? is it the wheels because of the diffrece to the original wheel/setup of the car??

please help !!!

Hi,

Welcome to TOC :)

I'm no expert but you're right about the 15's on the front and 16's on the rear. (they are on mine anyway lol) (though not sure if earlier mk3s had 15s all round??)

I know with mine (and probably your mates) the steering is spot on, and the turn in into bends is excellent. It may be the setup like you say, but one of the many knowledgeable people on here should give some good advice :)

Roadsters made before 2003 had 15|" all round, newer cars had 15" fronts and 16" rears.

You say yours has 17" all round, that in itself is fine.. I too have 17" all round, but what is important is the tyre sizes... the rear tyres should be wider than the fronts, I have 205/40x17 front and 215/45x17 rear, I have no handling problems at all but.. I also have lowered suspension (TIen Springs) and uprated anti-roll bars front and rear (Whiteline) which makes a bit of a difference over stock.

When I first fitted my 17" wheels things never felt quite right, I had the wheels before I had the springs etc, at speeds above/around the 70mph mark the front end went really light and the car felt very unstable, lowering the car solved the problem, here's why I think it done the trick...